Noble Eightfold Path of Buddhism – The Ultimate Way to Salvation

The Noble Eightfold Path of Buddhism

Buddhism teaches us to see life as a constant change for the betterment of life. The eightfold path is the path towards enlightenment. It is the final noble truth that Buddha taught his disciples. The eightfold path of eight aspects of Buddhist practice is wise, correct, skillful, and right. Gautama Buddha taught the eightfold path after his enlightenment. He set the Eightfold path between sensual indulgence and extreme asceticism. In Buddhism, the eightfold path is considered as a guideline.

Here, in this post, we will describe the eightfold path that will let you get more knowledge of Buddhism.

  1. Right Understanding (Samma Ditthi)

    It is the first step of the eightfold path. You may consider it the right view also. Right understanding is a significant step of the eightfold path. It teaches people to see the world in the utmost real way. We shouldn’t see the world according to our desire. In this step, personal experience will lead you to the right understanding.

  2. Right Intent (Samma Sankappa)

    It is the second step of the eightfold path. Right intent teaches us to be committed to the path. It shows us the real phase of life and the problems of life. Right intent leads us to decide what our heart wants. It must come from the heart. Right intent helps us to recognize the quality of all life.

  3. Right Speech (Samma Vaca)

    It is also a significant step of the Eightfold path. Right speech teaches us to recognize the truth and makes us aware of the impact of our mistakes. It helps us to communicate thoughtfully and to unite others. The power of the right speech moves us closer to compassionate living.

  4. Right Action (Samma Kammanta)

    It helps you to understand the need for an ethical approach in life. Right action teaches you not to take what does not belong to us. It also helps you to respect the agreements that we make in our private and business lives. It encompasses the five precepts that Buddha gave. The five precepts are not to kill, not to lie, not to steal, not to take drugs or other intoxicants, and avoid sexual misconduct.

  5. Right Livelihood (Samma Ajiva)

    Right livelihood follows the path from right action. If you don’t respect your doings, then there will be obstacles on the way to spiritual enlightenment. Right livelihood teaches us the principle of equal living and to respect life.

  6. Right Effort (Samma Vayama)

    Right effort gives us a balanced way to cultivate enthusiasm and a positive attitude towards life. You should put enough effort into making a better life. It produces an attitude of cheerful and steady determination. You must welcome clear and honest thoughts to produce the right effort in life.

  7. Right Mindfulness (Samma Sati)

    Unless the right effort, the right mindfulness is a bit trickier to grasp. It requires a change in thinking. Right mindfulness is to be aware of the moment and to be focused on that particular moment. This path ensures better life and leads us to enlightenment.

  8. Right Concentration (Samma Samadhi)

    Once your mind is clear, you may concentrate better to achieve your desired things. Right concentration helps your mind to focus on a particular object. It forms the advanced part of the meditation process. It helps us to choose worthy directions for the concentration of the mind. Overall, we can say the eightfold path is a very important part of life that must be followed. Every individual should practice and develop these eight principles of life. It ensures self-development and self-purification.

You May Like: Guide Your Life With The Quotes By Buddha


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here