Navratri Day 1 - Ghatasthapana and Shailputri Puja

1st day of Navratri is dedicated to Maa Shailputri. Ghatasthapana and Shailputri puja is performed on this day. She is the first form of the nine incarnation Goddess Durga. Maa Shailputri is also known as Bhavani, Parvati, and Hemavati. She is known to be the earthly essence. So, Navratri day 1 is dedicated to Maa Shailputri Puja. In 2021, Chaitra Navratri starts from Tuesday, 13 April.

2021 Navratri Day 1 Details

Chaitra Navratri Day 1
Maa Shailputri
Tuesday, 13 April 2021
Chaitra Sukla Paksha Pratipada
Maa Shailputri
Ghatasthapana, Shailputri Puja
'Om Devi Shailaputryai Namah'

All Navratris Day 1 Dates 2021

– Day 1 Magha Gupta Navratri: Friday, 12 February 2021
– Day 1 Chaitra NavratriTuesday, 13 April 2021
– Day 1 Ashadha Gupta Navratri: Sunday, 11 July 2021
– Day 1 Shardiya Navratri: Thursday, 07 October 2021

About Maa Shailputri

Maa Shailputri is the major and the absolute form of NavaDurga; since she was the wife to Lord Shiva and is known as Parvati. She took birth as the daughter of Lord Himalaya due to which she is named Shailputri – the daughter of mountains. Her deity has a half-moon on her forehead and holds a trident in her right hand & a lotus flower in her left hand. The Goddess can be seen seated on mount Nandi (bull).

Navratri Day 1 Puja Vidhi - Ghatasthapana and Shailputri Puja

The puja begins with Ghatasthapana, a ritual that symbolizes women's power. Ghatasthapana is performed 1st day of Navratri and considered as a most significant ritual of Navratri. This puja should be performed by the proper guidelines and puja muhurat. It is prohibited during Amavasya and night time. Ghatasthapana is an invocation of Goddess Shakti and doing it wrong time; might bring the wrath of the Goddess Shakti.

The Ghatasthapana puja is done by using puja items that are considered holy and symbolic. A shallow pan like utensil made of clay is used as a base. Three layers of mud and Sapta Dhanya/Navadhanya seeds are then scattered in the pan. After that little bit of water is needed to be sprinkled so that seeds get enough moisture. Then, a Kalasha is filled with Ganga Jal. Supari, a few coins, Akshat (raw rice mixed with turmeric powder), and Durva grass are put in water. After this, five leaves of the mango tree are put around the neck of the Kalash, which is then covered by placing a coconut.

Know More about Navratri Puja: Navratri Rituals

1. Atma Pooja: Puja is done for self-purification
2. Tilak and aachman: Put tilak on forehead and drink holy water from palms.
3. Sankalpa: Taking water in hand and making a wish in front of the Goddess.
4. Aavahana and Aasan, Offer flowers
5. Paadhya: Offer water to the Devi’s charan.
6. Aachman: Offer kapoor (camphor) mixed water.
7. Dugdha Snan: Offer cow milk for bathing
8. Ghrita and Madhusnan: Offer ghee and honey for bathing
9. Sharkara and Panchamritsnan: Offer sugar and the panchaamrita bathing.
10. Vastra: Offer sari or cloth to wear.
11. Chandan: Put Sandalwood tilak on the deity.
12. Kumkum, Kajal, Druvapatra and Bilwapatra
13. Dhoopa and Deepam
14. Prasad

Significance of Shailputri Puja

It is believed that the Moon - the provider of all fortunes, is governed by Goddess Shailputri; and any bad effect of the Moon can be overcome by worshipping her. Shailaputri is the essence of earthly existence. Her abode is in the Muladhara Chakra. The divine energy is latent in every human being. It is to be realized. Its color is crimson. The Tattva (element) is Earth, with the Guna (quality) of coherence, and with the Bheda (distinct) characteristics of Ghraana(the smell).

Auspicious Time: This puja is conducted in the Pratipada Tithi just after the Ghatasthapana.

You should be interested in Shardiya Navratri 2019 Dates.

Navratri Day 1 - Maa Shailputri Aarti & Mantra

Maa Durga mantras for all nine days of the navratri

Om Devi Shailputryai Swaha (108 recitation)

Vande Vanchhitalabhaya Chandrardhakritashekharam,
Vrisharudham Shuladharam Shailaputrim Yashasvinim.
Punendu Nibham Gauri Muladhara Sthitam Prathama Durga Trinetram,
Patambara Paridhanam Ratnakirita Namalankara Bhushita.
Praphulla Vandana Pallavadharam Kanta Kapolam Tugam Kucham,
Kamaniyam Lavanyam Snemukhi Kshinamadhyam Nitambanim.

Prathama Durga Tvamhi Bhavasagarah Taranim,
Dhana Aishwarya Dayini Shailaputri Pranamamyaham.
Trilojanani Tvamhi Paramananda Pradiyaman,
Saubhagyarogya Dayini Shailaputri Pranamamyaham.
Charachareshwari Tvamhi Mahamoha Vinashinim,
Mukti Bhukti Dayinim Shailaputri Pranamamyaham.

Omkarah Mein Shirah Patu Muladhara Nivasini,
Himkarah Patu Lalate Bijarupa Maheshwari.
Shrimkara Patu Vadane Lavanya Maheshwari,
Humkara Patu Hridayam Tarini Shakti Swaghrita.
Phatkara Patu SarvangeSarva Siddhi Phalaprada.

Maa Shailputri Story

The embodiment of the power of Brahma, Vishnu and Shiva, she rides a bull and carries a trident and a lotus in her two hands. In previous birth, she was daughter of Daksha, Sati. Once Daksha had organized a big Yagna and did not invite Shiva. But Sati being obstinate, reached there. Thereupon Daksha insulted Shiva. Sati could not tolerate the insult of husband and burnt herself in the fire of Yagna. In other birth, she became the daughter of Himalaya in the name of Parvati - Hemavati and got married with Shiva. As per Upanishad, she had torn and the egotism of Indra, etc. Devtas. Being ashamed they bowed and prayed that, "In fact, thou are Shakti, we all - Brahma, Vishnu and Shiva are capable by getting Shakti from you."

Related Topics:

Navratri Day 2 | Navratri Day 3 | Navratri Day 4 | Navratri Day 5 | Navratri Day 6 | Navratri Day 7Navratri Day 8 | Navratri Day 9 | Dussehra


  • 21/09/2020

    This is the must needed information regarding the great navdurga puja.regards.

  • 21/09/2020

    This is the must needed information regarding the great navdurga puja.regards.

  • 18/10/2020

    Essential information,very neatly and clearely explained easy to follow. thank you.

Leave Your Comment

More Mantra × -
00:00 00:00