Shravan Maas 2021 Dates and Days Information

Shravan Maas is the most auspicious month in the Hindu Calendar. This month is dedicated to Lord Shiva. People believe that Shravan is the best time to please Lord Shiva. All Mondays or Somwar which fall during Shravan month is considered highly auspicious for fasting and known as Shravan Somwar Vrat. Many devotees observe sixteen Mondays or Solah Somwar fasting from the first Somwar of Sawan maas.

Shravan Mass Calendar 2021

Shravan Maas 2021 Dates for the Northern States of India, which include, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Uttaranchal, Madhya Pradesh, Punjab, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, and Uttrakhand, This region follows the Purnimant calendar (the month begins with the Purnima or the full moon).

  • Sunday, 25 July - Start of Shravan(Sawan) Maas
  • Monday, 26 July - First Shravan Somvar Vrat
  • Tuesday, 27 July -  First Mangala Gauri Vrat
  • Monday, 02 August - Second Shravan Somvar Vrat
  • Tuesday, 03 August - Second Mangala Gauri Vrat
  • Friday, 06 August - Shravan Shivratri
  • Monday, 09 August - Third Shravan Somvar Vrat
  • Tuesday, 10 August - Third Mangala Gauri Vrat
  • Wednesday, 11 August - Hariyali Teej
  • Friday, 13 August - Naga Panchami
  • Monday, 16 August - Fourth Shravan Somvar Vrat
  • Tuesday, 17 August -  Fourth Mangala Gauri Vrat
  • Monday, 03 August - Fifth Shravan Somvar Vrat
  • Sunday, 22 August - End of Shravan(Sawan) Maas / Raksha Bandhan

Shravan Month 2021 Dates for Southern and Western States of India, which include, Andhra Pradesh, Goa, Maharashtra, Gujarat, Karnataka, and Tamil Nadu. This region follows the Amavasyant calendar (the month begins from Amavasya or the New Moon).

  • Monday, 09 August - Start of Shravan(Sawan) Maas, 1st Shravan Somwar Vrat
  • Monday, 16 August - 2nd Shravan Somwar Vrat
  • Monday, 23 August - 3rd Shravan Somwar Vrat
  • Wednesday, 25 August - Kajari Teej
  • Monday, 30 August - 4th Shravan Somwar Vrat
  • Monday, 06 September - 5th Shravan Somwar Vrat, End of Shravan(Sawan) Maas

The Holiest Month

Shravan Maas is the 5th month of the Hindu calendar. This entire month is dedicated to the worshipping of Lord Shiva and praying to him during this time pleases him very much. A lot of people observe fast the entire Sawan Month and pray to the Shiva Lingam every day. They also organize various puja and other ceremonies to please Lord Shiva and to get his blessings.

Shravan Purnima or the full moon day in Shravan maas is coincided with the Nakshatra or the birth star of Lord Vishnu or Shravan Nakshatra and is therefore called Sawan Maas. This month each Somvar or Monday is called Shravan Somvar and is considered highly auspicious. All Mondays in Shravan month are celebrated in Lord Shiva temples. A Dharanatra is hung over the Shiva Lingam filled with Holy water and milk, to continuously bathe the lingam, throughout the day and night. Lord Shiva devotees then offer Bilva leaves, holy water, and milk and flowers, also known as Falam toyam and Pushpam patram to the Shiva Lingam every Monday throughout Sawan Month. Devotees fast until sunset and the Akhand Diya burns throughout this time.

Comments

Leave Your Comment



More Mantra × -
00:00 00:00